Six social science faculty awarded 2017 Walter Channing Cabot Fellowships

May 8, 2017
Harvard veritas shield

Ten professors in Harvard’s Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS) have been named 2017 Walter Channing Cabot Fellows. These annual awards honor distinguished faculty members for their outstanding publications in the fields of literature, history, or art. Among the ten are six from the Division of Social Science:

  • Timothy Colton, Morris and Anna Feldberg Professor of Government and Russian Studies, for Russia: What Everyone Needs to Know  (Oxford, England: Oxford UP, 2016)
  • Peter E. Gordon, Amabel B. James Professor of History, for Adorno and Existence  (Cambridge, MA: Harvard UP, 2016).
  • Jane Kamensky, Professor of History and Carl and Lily Pforzheimer Foundation Director of the Schlesinger Library, for A Revolution in Color: The World of John Singleton Copley  (New York, NY: W.W. Norton, 2016).
  • Lisa McGirr, Professor of History, for The War on Alcohol: Prohibition and the Rise of the American State  (New York, NY: W.W. Norton, 2016).
  • Tommie Shelby, Caldwell Titcomb Professor of African and African American Studies and Philosophy, for Dark Ghettos  (Cambridge, MA: Harvard UP, 2016).
  • Daniel Smail, Frank B. Baird, Jr. Professor of History and Chair of the Department of History, for Legal Plunder: Households and Debt Collection in Late Medieval Europe  (Cambridge, MA: Harvard UP, 2016).

Read more